The Great Hall is proud to be apart of Toronto’s rich history. A new plaque honouring the building’s history by outlining the different phases of life The Great Hall has had was recently installed outside the main entrance on Queen St by Heritage Toronto.
Originally built as the West End YMCA, The Great Hall’s restoration project has revitalized the original structures character by bringing the build back to its original High Victorian style. 1087 Queen West has gone through many changes since it’s original build in 1890. After the YMCA, the Royal Templars of Temperance purchased and renovated the building in 1912 and by 1933 the Independent Order of Foresters merged with the Templars and added the dance hall, now known as Main Hall. Shortly after, the Polish National Union moved in and managed the building from 1939 until 1987. It was after this group that The Great Hall transformed into the cultural and event venue of Queen St West.
To find out more, check out our history page here.